leighblack: (Stimulator - Group Shot)
Pretty much, I hate you, Miss Rikki.

Hey everyone,

I want to let you know that Stimulator (the New Wave Disco Inspired Rock Band from LA fronted by ex-Pillbox Seattle born Susan Hyatt) is playing 2 Live Dates in November.

November Live Shows:

8th - Dante's in Portland Oregon at 10 pm
http://www.danteslive.com/


Me = very jealous
leighblack: (Hugh - Lickable)
So, I'm looking through the Minnesota State Fair guide that came in this week's City Pages. Of course, the first thing I look for is the listings of new foods for this year's Fair. It is the most important part of the Fair-going experience, after all. I'm not so excited about the spaghetti and meatballs on a stick or the chocolate dipped potato chips. The grilled chocolate sandwich may need to be tasted. But Cinnies N' Cream? Mini cinnamon rolls in ice cream?!? I'm so fucking there!! It's only a week away, which is sad because it means summer is nearly over. Boo.

BTW, the City Pages has a big article by some chick trying to make it as a screenwriter in Hollywood. The cover photo collage has a bunch of landmarks, including the Canter's sign. Me, upon spying it: "Oh! I was drunk there!!" =)

*kicks Stimulator website* grrrrrr...

Whoo-hoo!

Aug. 11th, 2005 11:35 pm
leighblack: (Stimulator - Group Shot)
I just saw a commercial for The Transporter 2! And it comes out on my birthday!! =) I know it's going to be B-A-D. I'm still dragging someone to see it with me. I'm just shocked that they're actually releasing it here. I thought it would be a straight-to-DVD thing in the US. Goddess, I hope Jason Stratham gets greasy again! *yum*

Bored? Download the live video for "78 Stimulator"! http://www.stimulatorband.com/videos/78StimulatorLIVE.mov It's got lots of Chaddy goodness, and they edited out a lot of Susan's spastic dancing.

And now I am off to bed. Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday!

http://www.februaryfilms.com/magic/Magic1024.mov
http://www.februaryfilms.com/magic/Magic720.mov
http://www.februaryfilms.com/magic/Magic480.mov
http://www.februaryfilms.com/magic/Magic320.mov
leighblack: (Stimulator - Group Shot)
Sorry that this post won't be as drunkenly entertaining as the Nashville post. It was a much calmer and soberer (soberer??) night.

My trip to Kansas City, MO to see Duran Duran and Stimulator, or I smell revolting )

And that was that trip. I’m really going to make an effort to finish my LA trip journal soon, even though it’s three months later. I promise. There will be plenty of good stuff in there!
leighblack: (Stimulator - 78 Stimulator)
Yes, I realize that I still haven't finished my journal entries from LA or done the one for my Des Moines weekend. Hush. They'll get done eventually. I wanted to write up this one while I still have a small thread of memory about what happened. I apologize that the only photos I have to go along with this post are crappy cell phone pics. I cleaned them up as best I could.

My trip to Nashville to see Duran Duran and Stimulator, or Leigh's hangover is named Chad Stewart )

Annnnnnd...that's about it! KC trip journal coming soon!!
leighblack: (Thomas - My Beautiful Muse)
Someone in the building across from mine obviously has a karaoke machine. It's not pretty. *shudders*

What is pretty is my new Stimulator Mood Theme! I need to change a few of them out, and there's still a couple that I need images for, but it's done for now. It's a little Chad-heavy though, since I used pretty much every Stimulator photo I could, then filled in the rest with random Chaddy photos, since I have a zillion. Thanks again to [livejournal.com profile] rockerlee for letting me steal use her photos!

Now I can finish writing my trip journal from Nashville.

I'm home!

Jul. 24th, 2005 08:42 pm
leighblack: (Stimulator - Group Shot)
Wheeeeeee! This weekend was FUN!!! I don't think I could ever possibly thank Thomas enough for what he did for us. Not only did Lee & I get photo passes, but we were in the 8th row, dead center. It was bliss! Stimulator was fabulous and Duran Duran was amazing!! We couldn't have gotten a better location, and I know Thomas had to lie his ass off to get those comps for us. I'm glad I bought him the good socks. ;)

Chad...Well, I could go on and on, but I won't. Let's just say the Chad adoration is probably worse than ever. He was really sweet all night. Unfortunately, they had to leave almost right away to drive to Indy, so we didn't get to hang out very long. Still, I ended up covered in ChadSweat and he made sure to thank me for everything I did over the past week. (read: thanks for bringing me booze) And if you haven't heard, the Faster Pussycat tour has officially been called off. They're planning to go out in the fall with BC. *crosses fingers*

I have more to tell later, of course.

Oh, Lee! Will you mind if I use some of your photos for my layout and a couple icons? I'll give you credit, of course.

Ann, you'll appreciate this phone exchange.
C: So how many people are coming?
Me: Four...oh, and we invited Kate.
C: Oh, fuck you!
Me: *giggles*


I'll leave you with a little wisdom:
Simon LeBon: to the left, and apparently with a sock =)
leighblack: (Chad - Glowing)
Goodbye old journal layout! Goodbye Nigel mood theme! Don't worry - they won't be forgotten. And I can put them right back in an instant. It was just time for a change.

And yes, there are actual bright colors in my journal now!
leighblack: (Chad - Band Whore)
YAY for my parents! It's their 30th Anniversary today. And they said that I can have their car for the weekend, so I'll have air conditioning on my long drive through Iowa! Yipee!! I couldn't be happier. Lee, this also means that we can for sure drive my car around town and we won't die from the heat. That's extra incentive for me not to drink at the show. I'll need all the help I can get.

Also, my car stereo came in today, so I once again have a radio/CD Player in my car. I've been without it for 24 days! I've been going nuts!! I blasted Stimulator the whole ride home. Shit, I don't think my parent's CD player plays mp3 CDs. I'll need to make some new CDs for my drive, I guess.

*hugs* to [livejournal.com profile] rockerlee, just because. Can't wait to see you this weekend!

I have this intense urge to change the entire look of my journal. I'm trying to resist, but I'm pretty weak. I know exactly what I want to do, I just need a little free time to do it.

Our book group is tomorrow night. Haven't read the book, haven't gotten a copy of the book, haven't even paged through it. I'm sure I'll be useful in the discussion. At least I know I'm not alone.

And for some entertainment...Not everyone will enjoy this, but guess who showed up on the Faster board today?? Oh yes, our friend Joe )

BTW, if you're bored, go to the Stimulator Message Board and make fun of Chad.

I'm home!

Jul. 17th, 2005 10:22 pm
leighblack: (Chad - Green)
FINALLY!! I don't even want to look at my car right now. I'm really, really happy to be out of it. This weekend was really fun! At least, Ann tells me that I had fun. Some of it is pretty blurry. Again, Chad & Thomas are baaaaaad for my health. I'll get it all written up soon. Honest.

If you're going to see Duran Duran in the next week or so, GO EARLY and cheer for Stimulator!! And those DD guys were pretty good too. I'm excited to do it all again next weekend! But with less alcohol. Much, much less.

Oh, and I know you'll all be shocked, but the Faster dates might not happen. Or maybe they will. Or maybe some of them will. Ann, if you happen to talk to my good friend Charles, see if you can get some info out of him. Or tell him to call me or something. Some of us want to know what's going on.

PS. Ann, I'm pretty sure my phone charger is in your bedroom. Just so you know.
leighblack: (Chad - Green)
Where is Leigh going to be over the next two months??

Again, this is mainly for myself, so I can remember where the hell I'm supposed to be. I'm too lazy to put it into a nice calendar form this time.

July 14-17 - Nashville, TN to see [livejournal.com profile] annfromdetroit and
July 15 - Duran Duran/Stimulator (Muh Chaddy!)

July 21 - Scum of the Earth in lovely Columbia Heights, MN (mmmmmmm...Skyla)

July 22-24 - Kansas City, MO to see [livejournal.com profile] rockerlee and the rest of the KC girls, and...
July 23 - Duran Duran/Stimulator
(Hey, Lee? Is your aunt going to hate me hanging around there? 'Cause I think I want to drive down on Friday night, if that's okay. I'd like to see you for more than 12 hours.)

July 27 - Aug 7 - Faster Pussycat Stalking Road-trip-o-rama
Disclaimer: This is provided that someone - anyone - actually figures out what the fuck is going on for this tour. Really, who needs confirmed dates?? Oh, and I assume I'll be seeing more of you guys for some of these dates. I'm just too lazy to write out everyone's names.
July 28 - Detroit, MI with [livejournal.com profile] what_never_was (confirmed!)
July 29 - Flint, MI (UGH! Flint) with [livejournal.com profile] what_never_was and [livejournal.com profile] foxontherun (mostly confirmed)
July 30 - Columbus, OH (confirmed)
July 31 - Cleveland, OH (confirmed)
Aug 2 - Mpls?? (totally not confirmed - however, it will be my Offically Early Birthday Party if the show happens)
Aug 3 - Fargo, ND (sort of confirmed)
Aug 4 - Fargo, ND (sort of confirmed)
Aug 5 - Cudahy, WI (sort of confirmed)
Aug 6 - Chicago, IL (sort of confirmed) with the usual Chicago suspects

Aug 19 - Kasey Chambers at the Minnesota Zoo with [livejournal.com profile] duckduck

Aug 20 - Sludge Xtravaganza in Chicago, IL with the Chi-town folks again

Aug 26 - Motley Crue at the Minnesota State Fair with [livejournal.com profile] rockerlee
leighblack: (Chad - Green)
Uhh, Lee? How mad would you be if I ditched out on Rock Never Stops? Because I'm having a really hard time getting past the fact that two of my favorite people will be in Nashville at the same time that weekend.

Ann? What do you say about the weekend of the 15-17th? Up for a little Duran Duran on the 15th? I should be able to get Thurs & Fri off, so I can just drive down on the 14th. I miss you!

Oh, and anyone and everyone is welcome to crash with me...you know, if there was going to be a Faster show here on Aug 2nd...or something like that. =)
leighblack: (Chad - Green)
Welcome home [livejournal.com profile] wonderfungus! Too bad you decided to come home on the hottest day of the year. Though I'm sure you scoff at our heat now that you're a California boy.

Sunburn update: Forehead is still peeling, but it should be done soon. Strangely, my arm and chest, which burned much much worse, seem like they're going to just tan out. I don't understand. But that does mean I'll have a nice base for 4th of July weekend. (or at least part of me will) OMG! I'll be at the cabin this very time next week. *happiness*

Those things I was going to get done yesterday? Yeah...well...I did do laundry and I made a whole one icon. Then I was suddenly overcome with exhaustion and fell asleep around 7pm. I woke up a few times and tried to get myself into the land of the living, but gave up and went to bed a little after 10pm. I suck.

Other than that, not much to report here. I must start reading our book club book, as I have to be done next Wed night. I'm completely broke and can't go out or do anything, so I suppose it won't be that hard to finish it. I WILL get my trip journal entries done by Sat night if it kills me.

Why do people get upset when I ask them to email me something? Here's the scenario, and it happens all the time: Someone calls me and wants me to set up something for them. I admit it, I usually tune out people who babble stuff at me on the phone until I can determine what it is they actually want. Usually, I'll just cut them off and tell them to send me an email with their request. Why? a)So I have the request documented for when I get asked why I did something b)So I can double-check what I'm doing against their written down instructions, rather than against what I remember from the phone call and c)People tend to babble on and on and on about irrelevant things on the phone. If they need to write it out, it's usually much more concise and easier to understand. Right? So you would think that they'd be happy I'm trying to make sure to get their request right. Nope. Usually I get a sigh and it seems like it's the end of the world that I'm asking them to send me a whole email. Whatever. Thank goodness it's almost the weekend. And then I have two three-day work weeks!

I'm upset I missed the Hollywood Rocks show last night. I really need to find a sugar daddy who's willing to buy me plane tickets to anywhere and at any time.

Oh, and if any of you computer wizzes can find me the video for "Magic" by Stimulator, I'll be your BFF!! I guess it was released in Australia, and maybe the UK. Googling "magic stimulator video" gets...well...not exactly the results I'm looking for. I'm guessing I'm going to have to spend some quality time with my parent's cable modem and a P2P network or two. It would all be so much easier if they'd just post it on their website!! I MUST see Chad doing an Olivia Newton-John cover!! grrr...

Profile

leighblack: (Default)
leighblack

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
23 45678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:59 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios