leighblack: (FOB - Pete <3's Cobra)
I found a torrent for the new Kasey Chambers album, Bittersweet, since it's not available here and I haven't see anything about when it will be. I'm still crazy in love with her voice! I wasn't sure about this album but it's pretty good. I think it's one that will grow on me.

Like the new Cobra Starship song! The last two Cobra albums were so just NOT what I was interested in that I didn't have much hope for 'Never Been in Love'. But it's pretty great! And super catchy! I definitely dig the Brip Pop vibe rather that the electro-pop they've been doing. Although really, I miss the snotty pop rock from the first two albums. The video for 'Snakes on a Plane' was floating around tumblr a couple weeks ago and oh man, I miss that. Also, I am super reserving judgement about how all the promo for the new song is just Gabe. Gabe, Gabe, Gabe. I sense a Panic! at the Brendon situation coming on and I'm not into it. But we'll see.

And new Fall Out Boy song on Monday! I was all 'but their last album just came out' and then realized it was June of last year. I just still listen to it a lot since my niece wants either that or the Frozen soundtrack when we're in the car. So yay! It'll be interesting to see what direction they're moving to now.

This post brought to you by the ten podcasts I have sitting on my playlist and should be listening to instead.
leighblack: (Cobra - Secure Dude)
I don't even have words
leighblack: (Cobra - Fangs Up)
this is pretty much the greatest thing ever

(Alternate link, in case it gets taken off YT)

I LOVE THIS RIDICULOUS BAND SO MUCH!!

and now to bed finally...
leighblack: (Cobra - Fangs Up)
dates behind the cut )

Oh God, oh God, we're all going to die comes to mind. The Triple Rock is TINY! But YAY!!! Cobras!!
leighblack: (Cobra - Happy Gabe is Happy)
OMG YOU GUYS! So many many awesome things happened tonight!!! I will TRY to write up some kind of recap tomorrow.

But most of awesome of all, this happened:
Suarez and Gabe

♥ ♥ ♥

I'm exhausted and sore from dancing and smell revolting from sweating. It was a FANTASTIC time!
leighblack: (Cobra - Happy Gabe is Happy)
I added my Cobra Starship videos to my YouTube channel! Okay, they're videos from the shows in October and LAST January, but I still got them up in under a year. That's something, right?

7 videos in all! (one is still uploading but should be available soon) Enjoy!
leighblack: (Cobra - Lick it Good)
MTV apparently asked some folks to put together their favorites of '08.

yes, Gabe Saporta picked his own song )

And now I've changed my el jay name to 'make my booty pop'.

This message brought to you by boredom while waiting for my hair to finish processing.
leighblack: (Cobra - Gabe is a Little Crazy)
I'm not interested in filling out that typical year-end meme that's floating around. Instead I'll do this one, partly stolen from [livejournal.com profile] seimaisin and partly from my own brain.

my list of concerts attended in 2008 )

also, my top 10 concerts of the year )

some meme questions:
Band(s) seen the most: Cobra Starhip, We the Kings and Every Avenue - 3 times each

Biggest show night: For sheer number of fans, definitely NKOTB. Which just reminded me why I hate arena shows. For anticipation, well...waiting 4 years to see Kasey Chambers again is kind of hard to beat.

Smallest show: Probably Sarah Borges & The Broken Singles. There were definitely less than 50 people in the Entry. Maybe less than 30. Shame really since the show was so fantastic!

Band(s) you never want to see again: Ayria. Oh gods, never again. She opened up for The Cruxshadows. It was just her, a keyboard/computer player and a dude on an electronic drum kit. And she ran around like Goth Barbie. Even though she was really loud, I actually fell asleep for a while. Because she played for an ETERNITY. Also, Metro Station. WHY ARE THEY SO POPULAR??

Band(s) you didn't really know going in and came out loving: Graham Colton, Hayes Carll, Matt Wertz, Brokencyde (ha ha!), A Verse Unsung

I meant to get all my photos and videos from all these shows that have been sitting on my computer for months posted before I made this post. But yeah, that didn't happen obviously. =/

I'm also trying to get 65 books read for the year. I'm at 63 right now. Can I do 2 books in 3 days? Sure. Will I actually have the free time though? That's the real question.
leighblack: (Cobra - Gabe Likes Pie)
Gabe's surgery got moved up to tomorrow. I'm not sure if this is good or bad.

Also, papi started [livejournal.com profile] getwellgabriel for people to leave messages for Gabe. I'm not sure if this is good or bad either. Fourth wall and all. But I'll probably still leave him a message there.
leighblack: (Cobra - Lick it Good)
You are one of the most amusing dorks on the planet.

From the Fueled By Ramen mailing list, concerning the now twice-postponed Cobra Starship UK tour.

""Hey UK,
Good News and Bad News:

Bad: we have to reschedule the upcoming UK dates bc of my surgery.

The good news is that we are adding more dates, and that by the time we finally get our stupid asses over to see you guys, we will have a new album out (hopefully)!

Plus, for you guys to vent your frustrations at me, I'm come up with an ingenious plan: everyone is allowed to smack me once across the face. No you cannot pull back from behind-the-ear. Yes, it has to be open hand.

And i must have an equal number of lefties and righties. The only thing that will numb my pain will be symmetry.

Sorry again for throwing you under the bus UK. Please don't hate us. Ps if my surgery goes bad, and I can't sing again, I'll still come out and get shitfaced with you guys.

Love,
Gabe".
leighblack: (Cobra - Zombie Saporta)
Cobra Starship - Kiss My Sass video:

I predict there will be icons of Gabe licking the ice cream cone before I get home from work tonight. Also I love the idea of truckers just STARING at them as they're shooting a video in a truck stop parking lot. Also, Travis! ♥

Cobra Starship Holiday Greeting on FBR:

and now I understand why all their merch was on sale on FBR this morning.
leighblack: (Cobra - Gabe is a Fucking Rock Star)
Ugh. Today hurts. I feel like I'm hungover even though I didn't have a drop of alcohol last night. I'm exhausted and sore and can barely talk and my ears are ringing.

But it was totally and completely worth it! All of the bands (Cobra Starship, Forever the Sickest Kids, Hit the Lights and Sing it Loud) were SO MUCH FUN! It was definitely the best Cobras show we've ever seen. Even if The Cabooze was completely and totally the wrong venue for the show. I was sure some poor little girl was going to get trampled in the crowd. We'll definitely be watching from farther back when The Academy Is... is there in two weeks.

I will try to write up an actual concert review this weekend. For now here's one of my photos from the meet & greet.


Look at how cute we are! YAY!

And now it will be Stephen Kellogg & The Sixers tonight!
leighblack: (Cobra - Gabe Loves NKOTB)
Wow. I think the internet may explode on Friday, when Randall from xkcd will be doing a guest comic for Dinosaur Comics.

This weekend was kind of exhausting. I had to work ten hours at Hallmark on Saturday for the Ornament Debut. I could tell the exact point where my patience for people wore off and unfortunately I still had to be at work for about 3 hours after that. =/ And two of the 4 customers I can't stand graced us with their presence. It was a looooong day. I was supposed to hang out at the House O' Cats for a movie night and instead I pretty much collapsed into a heap when I got home and watched Torchwood.

I dragged myself to the Sprawl of America to meet [livejournal.com profile] seimaisin and [livejournal.com profile] sister_wolf on Sunday. My original plan had been to find a top to finish my Halloween costume, but since I managed to finally find the one I really wanted on eBay in the right size I really didn't need to buy anything. Which is good. I mostly stuck to a plan of not being distracted by shiny things and spending money I didn't need to spend.

But I did solve the issue of what to bring to have signed at the Cobra Starship show. I bought this super awesome T-shirt. Honestly, I saw it and I just started laughing. It's perfect!

Also, apparently we time warped back to 1988 while we were in the Mall, because there was a whole hell of a lot of day-glo, sparkles and other 80s fashion affronteries. They had a freaking NKOTB shirt for sale at Torrid! Honestly, who decided that the 80s should come back and can all of us who lived through them the first time kick that person in the kneecaps?

And then last night was the premiere of Rock of Love Charm School. It didn't disappoint! There was a catfight in the first 15 minutes! Oh girls, you're so classy.
leighblack: (Cobra - Secure Dude)
Cobra Starship is not playing "I Kissed a Boy" on their tour. FAIL. =( Also, their set is only like an hour, probably because G.A.B.E.'s voice is about to take a semi-permanent vacation.

In good news, it looks like folks with the Meet & Greet passes get early entry. Suck on that, little kids who stand in line for hours.
leighblack: (Cobra - Superman Wears Gabe Jammies)
You guys, today is totally FAILBOAT.

Except for the fact that we're 100% confirmed for meet & greet passes for Cobra Starship!!! \o/

What the hell am I going to bring for them to sign??
leighblack: (TW - I'm Shagging That)
mega thanks to [livejournal.com profile] phiremangston for pointing this out!

Cobra Starship's "I Kissed a Boy", Jack Harkness-style!



It's like someone crawled into the fandom part of my brain and took notes.
leighblack: (Default)
I am absolutely NOT writing my Warped Tour review right now. I NEED to shower and go to bed. But we had an AWESOME time!! I saw or listened to: Norma Jean, Against Me!, Every Avenue, The Color Fred, Family Force 5, We the Kings (only 2 songs), The Audition, The Classic Crime, Angels & Airwaves, Reel Big Fish, Story of the Year, Motion City Soundtrack, Cobra Starship and The Academy Is. And then we decided that we're old and needed real food, so we left before Gym Class Heroes and Ludo. Which was fine.

I bought 4 T shirts, 2 CDs and a freaking expensive hoodie.

Family Force 5 FUCKING WON Warped. They're amazing!! They're coming back in a couple months and we'll definitely be there. TAI is also coming back. ON HALLOWEEN. That will be interesting.

I decided to brave the pit for Cobra Starship and ended up really close. So awesome! I have tons and tons of photos (from the whole day, not just them) but I have NO IDEA when I'll have time to edit & post them. For now, just have this one, as it's my pick for Project 365:

clicky for the pretty )

And now I'm going to take some Aleve and collapse.
leighblack: (Cobra - Gabe is a Fucking Rock Star)
*stares*



a couple more behind the cut )

I see about a million icons in the future for these photos.

Profile

leighblack: (Default)
leighblack

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
23 45678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 06:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios