leighblack: (Me - Me & Chaddy DRUNK)
[personal profile] leighblack
Seriously, I've been writing this at work for the past three days. It's loooooooooong!

A few weeks ago, [livejournal.com profile] seimaisin was rather mocking the fact that Vixen and Enuff Z'Nuff would be playing a show here on Friday, May 26th. While investigating this, I noticed that EZN would also be playing a show up in lovely(?) Becker, MN the next night. However, as much as I love EZN, I've seen them a bunch of times already and it was a holiday weekend and I already had plans and I was sure they'd be around again this summer. So I kind of pushed the shows out of my mind, especially since I wanted to see X3 on the 26th and there were a bunch of things going on the 27th.

Then, about 5 days before the show, I found out that something happened to the EZN drummer and that Chad Stewart - drum whore extraordinaire (Faster Pussycat, Motochrist, Stimulator, Gilby Clarke, Coyote Shivers, etc) - would be filling in for the two week tour. Well, that kind of changed everything and I ditched my friends rearranged my plans so I could be at both shows.


Hmmm, I should probably start with a little info for the newbies. So, yeah. Enuff Z'Nuff. If you remember 1989/90 or have any power ballads collection CD, you may remember "Fly High Michelle." But they're a much better band than that implies. No, seriously. They're a great band! Believe me, the first time I saw them live I was skeptical too, but they quickly won me over. And even though I don't really know them at all, they always remember me and are very, very nice guys. Well, Monaco is a little strange, but he's still great. They're definitely one of the bands I'm willing to drive all over for, as I did last year when I saw them in Detroit and Chicago. And I may get some measure of enjoyment out of stalking Monaco. I like to see him confused about why I'm always in a different city when he sees me.

Chad...where do I begin with Chad? Okay, so he's the drummer for my very favorite band in the world. That's how I met him a few years ago - quite awestruck that he would remember me and actually look forward to seeing me at shows. But it's not like that anymore. We're friends. Not "OMG! I am soooooo like friends with the band!!!" but really friends. And I may have a teeny crush on him. That's neither here nor there though. I just enjoy being around him as he's lots of fun and we have a lot in common and we always have a good time. And even though I would have 100% loved it if [livejournal.com profile] rockerlee could have come up and spent the weekend with us, I was kind of looking forward to it just being me and Chad for awhile, since I usually see him in a big group situation. He just acts different when we're not around everyone else. He's not usually in his spastic Diva mode then. Also, I was quite excited that he was in my area for once, rather than me having to drive 14 hours to see him.

So, anyhow...I called him on Friday afternoon to see what was going on and he invited me to watch sound check and hang out. Chad was kind of upset that I wasn't bringing anyone with me, but what did he expect on a Friday night of a holiday weekend? Everyone was busy. Even though it's still pretty early in the season, it was approximately eleventy billion degrees out, so opted not to get all dressed up like I normally would. Minimal makeup, a cute black tank, jeans and sandals. It was a good decision. I fought traffic out to Columbia Heights and got to the bar, only to determine that EZN wasn't there yet. So, I played the Waiting for Chadâ„¢ game yet again. In the hot sun. While melting. To his credit, I didn't have to wait very long as a SUV soon drove up with Chip Z'Nuff hanging out the window to wave at me.

I got my usual "hi, hon" and a big Chaddy hug and said hello to everyone. Chaos usually ensues when Chad is around, but he was rather low-key as he was tired from driving all night from Chicago. He wisked me through the bar and backstage, then sent me back to fetch Monaco & Chip to show them where to go. It was cool that even though John & Chip don't really know me, they were totally comfortable with me being around and everything. I talked with the guys for a while before they went to set up onstage. There was some chaos as no one thought to bring any guitar cables, but it all got worked out eventually. While Monaco fucked around, Chad pulled me aside to play some new Stimulator stuff for me on his laptop. I do love how that boy is willing to share music. =)

They finally got it all together and did three songs for sound check. I highly enjoyed it and thought they sounded great. I did get some video but it didn't turn out so well since it was dark in there, but I did rip the audio off it if you'd like to download it. For Now

Chad and I took off to the store to pick up some stuff and we caught each other up on things, since it's been almost a year since we've seen each other. He also tried to convince me that he had finally come to me, rather than me driving to him as usual. I'm like "Uhh, that's not why you're here." "Yeah, but I'm still here with you." Hmmm. I guess. We called Lee while we were in the car to say hello and so we could both rip on him for a while. On the way back into the bar, we got stopped by the bouncers and Chad had to explain that he was really in the band. And I was really with them. He gave my official title as Gopher Girl. Gee, thanks.

We ended up hanging out backstage for a very, very long time. The Vixen chicks had the tiny dressing room, even though they weren't even there, and Monaco started making cracks about how they needed the room to fix their tampons and use their Massengil. I just kind of looked at him like "Uh, hey!" and he said "Oh, yeah. Sorry. But you're just one of the guys." Yeah. That's what every girl wants to hear when surrounded by hot rock boys.

They started working out the set list and I pretty much begged for them to play "Saturday" for me. Chad said he didn't know it, so I went to grab it out of my car so he could add it to his laptop. (I was beginning to see where the Gopher Girl thing came in) I told Chip about how that song totally reminds me of the summer of 2003 and every time I hear it I get extremely happy. He seemed touched by that. Chad & I were standing there for a while, playing with his laptop while he burned some CDs for me. I kept making jokes about his terrible taste in music, as usual. He scrolled through a bunch of his photos for me too, pretty much just to show off Thomas's gut. And he informed me that my Tommy is going to be a father in about a month. A...a...baby? He's going to be responsible for a baby??? That's scary. Also scary was photos of Chad in his "Grandpa Chic" sweater. Black and red argyle pattern? Just, no. NO. I also started getting on his case about his age on his MySpace page, because I giggle about it everytime I see it. He used to be a couple years older than me. Now we're the same age. I'm looking forward to next year when he's younger than I am. =)

We also talked about the supposed upcoming Faster Pussycat tour. And the fact that Taime is sober, which I still find a little hard to believe. Okay, a lot hard to believe. Since Eric is doing that thing with Wednesday 13, Chad thinks Tracii will end up going out on tour with them. Yay! And I got to hear about the Stimulator tour plans, none of which involved the word "Midwest." Bah. And he also told me that Les, Dish and T'Chad are back in PBF now. (???) I asked if they smelled any better and he said that Les was actually worse. Then Chad told me about how he's not allowed to drink before or during the shows on this tour. Of course, he told me this as he was opening a beer.

There continued to be some more wrangling about the set list. Chad wanted to do "Tears of a Clown" and I got to listen to him and Monaco work on it, which was hella cool. It would have been awesome for them to play it, but Chip shot it down. I fufilled more Gopher Girl duties as I delivered the guest list and merch to their respective locations. By this time the bar folks were used to me though and just let me wander around wherever, so I only had to say "I'm with the band" a couple times. Because I hate saying that. We all ate dinner and then Monaco & Chip left to go get ready at the motel. Chad had brought his stuff with, so he stayed behind with me. Apparently, they were all stuck in a tiny room at the Bates Motel and he didn't really want to go back there.

We walked around the bar and settled down at a table for a while. Apparently, he wasn't too fond of the ribbing he'd been getting on the FP message board about my having to buy him booze all the time, so he bought a round of Jager shots for us. And he had a double-Vodka/Red Bull. So much for not drinking. The boys got back and I was rather horrified by Monaco's outfit. Then the Vixen girls showed up and I was even more horrifed by their outfits. They were super nice though and all complimented me on my Flying V guitar purse. In fact, everyone seemed to like it. I honestly thought Chip was going to try to steal it. And both Chad and Monaco were playing with my Bill Hicks pins.

I should probably mention again how just wonderful these guys were. They totally just absorbed me into their little camp. Chip especially was a big sweetheart, making sure that I was comfortable and offering me a chair and water and stuff. I asked him about his girl, since I know her, and he started telling me all about how great she is. *awwwww* He was just really, really sweet the entire night. Monaco was great too, but he's much harder to read than Chip is. I kind of gushed about how much I love his solo music and I think he may have been a little scared. But he did say that he'd get his other CD to me after they got home, since I didn't have it.

It was close to show time, so I grabbed my stuff to go out by the stage. I wasn't really sure if I'd be welcome backstage after the show since I know how band boys can be about their clean up time, but Chad said he'd see me back there when they were done. I took that to be an invitation. The place wasn't exactly packed, but there was a decent crowd there. Mostly because Jan from Vixen is a local girl and tons of members of her family were there. Everybody was pretty much hanging out at the tables or by the bar though, so I slid up to the front of the stage pretty much all alone.

The show went very well and they sounded great. Eventually a small crowd did form by the stage so it wasn't totally dead. In fact, a few people were more than a little boisterous. I had a lot of fun dancing and singing along, and Chaddy and I kept making faces at each other. I liked being able to actually see him, rather than having a cloud of fog in front of him. And I could seriously watch Monaco make guitar faces for hours. But maybe not while wearing that outfit.


Oh noooooooooooo, Monaco. No no no!

I got lots of photos, of course. You can find them here . I also shot a fairly decent video of "Baby Loves Me" (have I mentioned how much I looooove my new camera?) and you can find that here . (I had to compress the vid down quite a bit to fit in YouTube's 100M limit. If you'd like to see the original 250M video, let me know and I can upload it)

I made my way backstage once they were done and kind of stood around while there was some stripping and toweling off. And cooling off since it was still super hot. Chad was really super worn out and seriously had to sit for a while to regain his composure. I've never really seen him be less than the Energizer bunny, so I was a little worried. It seemed to be a mixture of the heat and eating before the show though and he was fine after a while. All 3 of them wanted to see my photos and I got lots of compliments on how they turned out. Monaco may have been more impressed by my snazzy camera though.

Vixen started up and...yeah. It wasn't entirely pleasant. Chad & I headed for the bar. He was still ranting about the board razzing him, so he bought that round of Jager shots too. And I got a Stoli & cran. We sat and watched Vixen for a while. Jan's family was really into it. That was kind of cute, because most of them were at least 50. The girls in the band though were trying a little bit too hard. And need some work on their harmonizing. Or a lot of work. More Jager shots appeared and I insisted on paying for that round. I was getting rather plastered at this point. Monaco showed up to hang with us for a while. And another round of Jager shots appeared too, which Chad also paid for.


We all look so sweaty and wilted. Blah.

We gave up on Vixen and went to sit backstage again. That's when I made this rather entertaining voice post. Too much Jager + hardly any food = DRUNK Leigh. I ended up sitting and talking to Chip and Monaco for a long time while Chad flitted around the bar. I've seen EZN a bunch of times and never gotten a photo with Chip, so I made John take one.


Awwwwww...cute! (Try not to pay attention to how awful my hair looks)

I loved talking to Chip, but...ummm...I was kind of getting a little foggy being around him. I think that was making me feel worse than the Jager was. Vixen was finally done so I wandered out into the bar to find Chad. He was talking to Tolley & Trudy, who I haven't seen in a very long time. We tried to convince them to go to the show the next night. I also tried to convince a bunch of other people too and drunkenly gave them directions, which I think were mostly right.

The bar was closing down, so we went backstage to load up the SUV. Chad had agreed to drive my car to the scary motel so I could hang out and sober up a bit before heading home. Chad FINALLY gave me the copy of the new Motochrist CD he promised me ages ago, and we cranked it all the way up as we drove. Once we got to the motel, we sat outside and talked and I started to feel a lot better, so I got ready to leave. I got lots of love and hugs from the boys and they all thanked me for helping out. I promised to see them all the next night in Becker and finally left.

I had to work the next afternoon, which SUCKED because I was super hung over. I still didn't feel good, so I was pounding water and avoiding food. I'm sure I looked entirely awful. I finally did order Jimmy John's but only ate about 4 bites of it. I was just worried about spending another night drinking on an empty stomach. While I was wasting the afternoon away, texting [livejournal.com profile] rockerlee, I wondered when Chad would start calling me. It wasn't even 5 seconds later that my phone rang. Apparently, they needed directions. Why they were depending on me for this, I have no idea. But I pointed them in the correct direction, and assured them that they were still going the right way when he called back a little while later.

I went home to change after work and burn some things that Chad wanted. Since it was again the temperature of the sun outside, I opted for another casual outfit. My off the shoulder black top, jeans and sandals. Another good call. I drove the hour up to Becker and called Chad once I got up there. They weren't anywhere near ready yet. Figures. I do so love to play Waiting for Chadâ„¢. He said he'd hurry and I told him not to worry because I'd entertain myself. He said they'd meet me at the bar in about an hour. I drove up to St. Cloud and stopped in at Barnes & Noble, since I really really like that one. And I scored three books I was totally looking for, so it was a very good trip.

I drove back down to Becker and saw that their SUV wasn't there yet. So I pushed my seat back and kind of dozed a little bit, figuring that he'd call me. It got later. And later. And later. Finally, it was about an hour after he'd said they'd be there, so I called him and didn't get an answer. Hmph. He finally called me back to apologize because he'd fallen asleep. Then he asked if I'd come get him at the hotel because he wanted to get down to the bar earlier than Chip was planning. I had thought I'd seen their SUV at the Super 8 I'd passed and I was completely correct. I zipped up there and was greeted at their door by a towel-clad Chad and Monaco wandering around in his boxers. (Chip was still sleeping) I made sure it was okay if I came in and they assured me that it was fine. Must be that "just one of the boys" thing again.

We all talked while they got ready for the show. Silly rock boys needed reassurance that they had sounded good the night before, so I spent some time feeding their egos. And teasing Chad about how long it was taking to do his hair. Somehow it was decided that I'd also be taking Monaco down to the show. This was kind of a problem because the backseat of my car is full of crap. Even moreso than normal because my mother recently cleaned out their storage spaces and gave me boxes and boxes of stuff, all of which were still in my car. I went outside to carve out a space for John and then went back inside to grab the boys.

Poor Monaco! He and his guitar were totally crammed into my backseat. At least I'm short and have my seat pulled way forward so he had some leg room. Thankfully, the bar wasn't too far away. He commented that my car looked like a pawn shop, which I couldn't disagree with. As usual, Butch was on my CD player and Monaco started gushing about him. Well, in a Monaco-like way, not a Chad fangirly way.

I had warned the guys that this bar was out in the middle of nowhere. But Chad told me that he was still surprised at just how nowhere it was. It's just your typical local bar in a little town, except that it also doubled as a liquor store. Lee & I actually saw RATT play there once. Otherwise, it's normally cover bands and stuff. Chad didn't even bother to explain the fact that I was with the band at the door. He just walked me through the "backstage" area instead. His "no drinking before the show" rule lasted just about as long as it took us to walk to the front to drop off the guest list and then go to the bar.

We watched the cover band for a while. They were okay. Except that they butchered "Crazy Bitch" and a few other songs that I liked. I talked to a few of them later though and they were very nice, so I can't really bash them. Monaco spotted me standing with Chad and walked over in a rather determined way. Oh no. I knew what that meant. I said that yes, I would be happy to do merch for them. The table was a little way back in the bar, but I'd have a clear view of the stage, so it wasn't so bad. I've done merch in worse places. John thanked me and said that he just wanted to have someone that they trusted. He also corraled this kid who I recognized from the night before into helping out, so I wouldn't have to stand there all night. The idea was that we'd take turns or something.

So, there I was, once again playing Merch Bitch. Except now that I had this socially-inept guy that wouldn't leave my side. I don't think he talks to a lot of girls, if you know what I mean. (I cannot remember his name at all - we'll call him Fargo since that's where he's from) I left him there a couple times to run to the bathroom and hit the bar and to talk to Chad. He had been getting harrassed by the guys on stage, and it always makes me happy when people harrass Chad. Something about punching him out. Then they mentioned that he was in Faster Pussycat, and someone shouted out that they'd seen them at the Met Center with Motley Crue. Chad was all "dude, I was in high school then." (which is actually true) I later found Chad talking with this rather attractive guy, who I later found out was Chip's brother, Ron. The lead singer for the cover band was taking a break while someone else sang and came over to serve up some more harrassment. He came over and said something about how short people are always so angry. I just looked at him and said "Fuck you!" and there was much giggling as he kind of stammered an apology and walked away. Chad was rather on a roll as he decided that he was going to be obnoxious tonight. I told him that I'd be happy to take him to the airport after he got fired. =)

Chip's brother tracked me down at the merch table and we started talking as EZN was getting ready to go on stage. I still had Fargo hanging around me too. Chad ran up to the table and asked me to please get him a Jack & Coke while he was setting up. I replied with a weary "yes, dear." "Aww, come on! I'll get ya back." "Sure you will." I explained to Fargo & Ron that I was Chad's official drink bitch and excused myself to hit the bar again and deliver the drink to The Diva.

I shooed Fargo away from the merch table when EZN started and told him that he could go up by the stage first. But PLEASE remember to come back for at least a little while so I could go up there. It didn't feel right to be so far away for the whole show! The crowd was a little apprehensive at first but soon got into the show. A lot of people ended up dancing up by the stage. Maybe because Chad was yelling at them to get their asses up there and dance. And for Jager shots, so I flagged down a waitress to send up some up there for him. Monaco pulled a Taime move a stole a couple of the shots for himself, but Chad still got some. Fargo finally came back and whined about having to be so far away, but I told him I'd come back after a couple songs. I took some photos, of course. Including this one, which Chad posed for and then made sure I got. Camera whore. While I was up there John thanked me again for helping them out. I yelled at him for stealing Chad's shots. =) I did hold my promise though and went back to the merch table after about 3 songs.

Ron came back over again and I was kind of getting a vibe from him. Hmmmm. Very interesting. Once the guys got off stage, it was close to bar close so I grabbed the waitress again to bring over a bunch of drinks and shots so we'd have plenty. I saw Chad walking to the bar and screamed "Charles!!" (because I loooooove calling him that!) to get his attention. We did shots, he grabbed a drink and then went to the bar for another. He came back and started harrassing folks to buy Motochrist CDs. He also started trying to name off all the bands he's in and couldn't remember them all and turned to me for help. How the hell am I supposed to remember??? I actually ended up selling quite a few things, which kind of surprised me. I didn't think there would be many takers. Even Ron bought things, although that might have been a ruse to talk to me. I finally packed everything up, distributed the money to the guys and then made it back to the bar again right before they stopped serving. I ended up with yet another drink and somehow bought Ron a drink too. I only did the one Jager shot though, so I wasn't feeling bad at all.

We hung around the bar until they finally kicked us out. Chip insisted that I go back to the hotel with them. "Leigh, you're coming back with us!" So, I helped them haul stuff back to the hotel (and somehow ended up with Chad's to-go drinks in my car) and hung out for a while to enjoy some Johnny Monaco magic tricks. I told him that I've never seen him do them before and he seemed surprised. I commented that I don't really get hang around with them at shows since I don't know them that well. I'm more that girl that he recognizes and always greets, but that he doesn't really remember who I am. He started protesting, but I told him that it was fine. I know it's confusing since he always sees me in a different city and he agreed with that. It was getting late though, and I still had an hour to drive home so I decided to leave.

I got lots of hugs and a kiss on the cheek from Chip. John thanked me again for helping out and I told him that it was my pleasure and I'd do it anytime. Chad walked me out to my car and said it had been great to see me. He told me he loved me and that he appreciated everything I do for him. I got one last big hug and he kissed the top of my head. He told me he'd see me once the Faster tour starts and then I finally left.


And that's about it in a verrrrrrry long nutshell. OMG!! Soooooo much fun!! I just luff those guys! I seriously had the bestest time. I'm very, very happy that I'll be able to go the Chicago show next weekend. Not just to see the boys, but to see my Chicago girls too because I miss them!!
(deleted comment)

Date: 2006-06-01 07:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] leighblack.livejournal.com
*hee* I know. I didn't really mean for it to get that long. Oops. It was certainly fun though!

Date: 2006-06-01 11:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] missvn.livejournal.com
Sober Taime??? Um yeah... add me to the list that doesn't get that one. (That belongs in the famous "Al Jourgensen 'I'll believe it when you pull up your sleeves for me. Oh you won't? Then I don't buy it.' I'll believe it when I see it category).

Date: 2006-06-01 11:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] leighblack.livejournal.com
I don't know. Chad swore it was true. JD's death really hit him hard.

Though it's probably a bad idea to go on tour if you're trying to stay clean.

Date: 2006-06-01 11:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rockerlee.livejournal.com
I ccould have sworn that I told you that Thomas was pregnant. Uh, I mean that his girlfriend or whatever was pregnant. ;) Chad told me in December at the FP show in Denver. He also stated that he was going to be the Godfather and said, "watch, he'll die just so he can dump the kid on me" or something to that effect.

And you helping Chad recite all his bands gave me a flashback of when I did that for Keri.

I wish I could go next weekend, but alas, that's when Ann will be here for Rockfest. Oh, if I could just be in two places at once...

Date: 2006-06-01 11:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] leighblack.livejournal.com
I think I would have remembered if you had told me something like that. I already feel sorry for the kid. ;)

I just looked him like "if you don't even know, how am I supposed to??" Stupid boy.

Clone yourself.

Date: 2006-06-03 04:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] daughterofglam.livejournal.com
Awwww, honey! It sounds like you had a wonderful time!!
And I love the picture of you & Chip! OMG! *faints*


Even if the post was long, it was a great read. But the sober Taime, wow. I am floored. I haven't been in touch with him in well over a year. (long story) I wish him the best.

XOXOXOXOX

Date: 2006-06-03 05:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] leighblack.livejournal.com
I did, indeed, have a wonderful time. I'm very excited for next weekend! =)

Yeah, we're kind of cute. I still can't believe we've never taken a pic together before!

Yeah, I'm still not sure I believe the sober Taime thing. Who knows??

See you soon!

Profile

leighblack: (Default)
leighblack

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
23 45678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios