I feel like crap. I think I strained a muscle in my neck or something and it's causing me to feel naseous and sleepy. I was so wonky when I was driving from work to the bookstore that I thought I was going to pass out. So, I left work early and here I am watching crappy TV (Average Joe, if you care).
I guess I don't really have all that much to say about the weekend. I got up & drove to Chicago on Saturday morning. It only took six hours! Yay!! I got to
xiolablux's house and got ready.
littleweirdgirl met us and we were off to Q101's Twisted 10 show, starring Jane's Addiction, Korn, 311, Dashboard Confessional and AFI. Julee was lucky enough to be celebrating her birthday with her favorite band playing in front of us.
We ate at Chili's and made plans to get some Krispy Kreme's after the show. We got into the arena and quickly noticed that we were pretty much the oldest people there. It seemed like all the kiddies were there to see Korn, dressed in their best "I hate the system" clothing. (interjection: Awwww, she picked the model instead of the average guy! Stupid girl, the other guy was much better!) Our seats were decent - not great, not terrible. Frog (Kim) and her husband, Chad, met us at the show.
AFI was awesome! I didn't know much about them, and they put on a terrific show! I didn't see much of Dashboard (yawn!) or 311, who kept having equipment problems. Korn was pretty good. The kiddies were really into them and head banging in unison. Jonathan Davis left the stage at one point, and then this ear splitting noise started. He brought out bag pipes and was playing them VERY loudly. I was annoyed and wanted the fucking noise to stop, but the kids were cheering like it was the greatest thing ever. Mmmm, okay.
Jane's was great, as always. It was just disappointing that it wasn't a real Jane's show. They didn't have their stage set and didn't play their normal set. They played a lot of new songs, which was fine. But I wanted "Summertime Rolls" and "Three Days!" The arena slowly emptied out and there weren't a whole lot of people left by the end, so we moved closer to the stage.
After the show, we said goodbye to Kim & Chad and then went for food. We went back to Julee's and I crashed. Then I drove back home in the morning. I spent an exciting evening at home doing laundry and organizing, cataloging and alphabetizing my CDs. Yes, I am a geek.
And, I think that's about all I have for today. I'm beat & going to bed now.